Expect nothing in return

“Let me tell you the story of an angel that God had placed in my life”. She said to me. She proceeded to tell me about a stranger who had loved upon her within minutes of meeting her, and generously blessed her despite not knowing her. A stranger who took out the government cheque out of her purse, signed the back, and gave it to her without any questions asked, wishing that she had more to give. A stranger continued to give days, weeks, and months after, knowing that she was in need. A stranger who didn’t think of loving as an inconvenience but a joy. A stranger who quickly became a friend. A friend who she seldom talks to, but often talks about. I knew this stranger, I knew her friend, and hearing this story did not shock me at all. I didn’t think it was possible to love her even more – but I did. 

I think about these past couple of months, and I marvel at the faithfulness and sovereignty of God. Part of His faithfulness is demonstrated by the constant flow of work that He has steadily provided (seriously ask me about this in person, because it’s incredible how God orchestrates His plan). But God also continues to exemplify His faithfulness in the people that He has placed in my life these past couple of months.

Some are strangers, strangers who have started praying for me, before I even realize that they are praying. Strangers who have taught me about trusting in the Lord, going to a different church service to attend a Marshall’s sale later , and believing in the absolute power of of prayer.

Some are friends, friends who laugh with me and encourage me, who pray for me and serve with me. Friends who have spoken wisdom into my life, who have tried to set me up with someone they have already been out with, and not judge me for wanting to spend money on a VIP movie. Friends who will talk until there is no one left in the sanctuary and most importantly – friends who will fondue with you (highly recommend one of these).

Some are older, who have lived more life than I have, who have more wisdom than I have, and who love the Lord just as I do. Whose life experience is filled with anecdotes and stories, wisdom and folly, and whose words and advice are filled with grace and love.

Some are younger, who have taught me the importance of living fearlessly and boldly, all for the sake of the gospel. Adolescents who are burdened by the pain and sorrow of their friends, and who are filled with brokenness because they do not know the Lord. Students who will write essays about Christ, proclaim the gospel to their teachers, and boldly share truths with their friends.

Some (like the friend described above) of whom I think I am unworthy of. Servants of the Lord who make me question and challenge my faith and my actions simply by leading by example and following in the footsteps of Jesus. Who give willingly and generously, not just out of their abundance, and expecting nothing in return. Who love me and model the love of Jesus in my life, who challenge me to be more like Him and to love more like him – to love unconditionally without expecting anything in return.

“And if you lend to those from whom you expect to receive, what credit is that to you? Even sinners lend to sinners, to get back the same amount. But love your enemies and do good, and lend, expecting nothing in return, and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, for he is kind to the ungrateful and the evil. Be merciful, even as your Father is merciful.”   – Luke 6: 34-36

Leave a Reply

