God is Good ALL THE TIME.

A friend said to me the other day: “Wow, God is really good to you.”
And I had to whole heartedly agree. 

BUT was I equating God’s goodness with “getting what I want”?

He has been extremely “good” to me. Specifically lately – In June, I had applied for a “dream job” at my “dream school”. I would be working with students who have special needs in a school with staff and students that I loved. When an interview didn’t come, I was disappointed and yet persistent in checking and applying for jobs throughout the summer. I saw God working incredibly throughout the summer, and yet the thought of not having a job in September was not daunting. I don’t know if I would call it peace in my circumstance, trust in the Lord, or ignorance of the situation, but I was extremely content where I was and with what God had planned for me.

Looking back on it, I really cannot explain it. God had given me this state of contentment, and in addition to that, a small group who I knew was continuously praying for me… even though many times, I wasn’t praying myself. After a couple of job interviews, I got another call wanting me to come in for my “dream job” at this “dream school” that I had applied for months ago. And by His provision and by His grace, He has given it to me. I am seeing Him work in my classroom, and using me in ways that only He can use me. I see his grace, his provision, his blessing.

YES, God was good in providing me with that job. I couldn’t ask for anything more. I am completely content with where i am. BUT, God was good in making me wait for the job, He was good when I was anxious about multiple interviews, God was good when I was disappointed because I thought I hadn’t gotten the job. God was good when I was content with my situation. God continues to proclaim His goodness as I use His work in my life to bring praise and glory to His name. AND, God will be good in my suffering, God will be good in my stress and in my trials, God will be good as I meet with parents next week, and God will be good as I continue to strive to live a life that will be glorifying to Him. God is good ALL THE TIME. 

Stop limiting the goodness of our Lord. 

For the LORD is GOOD; His steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations – Psalm 100:5 

Leave a Reply

