Hello Friend, this is for you:

Over the past couple of weeks I have been extremely convicted of the type of friend I have been, more so – the lack of love that I have shown. If you are reading this now, and you consider me a friend of yours, it is likely that there is a text message or email that I have failed to respond to, a Facebook message that I have yet to acknowledge. Have we been trying to set a Skype date now for weeks or a date to hang out for a couple of months? The worst part is that I have been making excuses: I am horrible at communication and responding to emails, I live in the present and invest my time and energy where I am physically, I’m not good at technology… These excuses are all true, but they are simply things that I need to work on, things that I am able to work on.

I have felt so loved and supported this summer. I have had friends email me to update me on their lives, I have had numerous people text me to ask me how they can pray for me, I have had people approach me telling me that they are praying for me, friends have asked to hang out – wondering where I am, checking up on me occasionally and telling me that they miss me. I have had an undeserving, constant array of support and encouragement this summer, and I wish I could say that I have done the same for them. There is no excuse.

I have felt God’s love pour out on me this summer through my friends – and I am incredibly thankful. I am certainly not proud of my response. My response or lack there of, has not been representative of the love that I have for you as friends, nor the love that I have for Christ. I am not perfect, but because of the Love of Christ in me, I am certainly capable of loving you just as Christ loves me. Is the love of Christ evident in the way that I love others? Is my pursuit of Christ evident in my relationships? Because Christ lives in me, I am capable of so much more – let me show you.

Dear Friend,
Thank you for always loving and encouraging me. Thank you for supporting me when I have not been the easiest person to support. Thank you for being patient for me as I slowly respond to emails and messages. Thank you for being a better friend to me than I have been to you. And thank you for showing me what it means to be a friend and for STILL calling me yours. I am sorry for only receiving love and not giving it. I apologize for taking this friendship for granted, and for not making the effort in the friendship. I apologize for my ignorance and my selfishness. I am going to try to love you as I have been loved. I am going to make a conscious effort to improve the type of friend that I have been. I will ask how I can pray for you and I make more of an effort to keep updated on the news in your life. I will not procrastinate my response to you, but I will intentionally love you by building you up and spending time with you. I will care for you by messaging you when I think of you and when I pray for you. I will remember you when I am living in the present because you are my present, you are my friend. I will allow the love that I have for Christ to be evident in the love that I have for others. I want the love of Christ to pour out into every relationship that I have with you. I hope that you will be able to see the love of Christ in me. Thank you for loving the person that I am – Thank you for being my friend.

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”- John 13:34-35

Leave a Reply

